A Heart for Reconciliation 

Welcome to a study of 2 Corinthians!

This page will connect you to daily devotions, weekly small group discussion questions, background material, and sermon help for the study of 2 Corinthians in June and July 5 of 2015 or any time. Invite your people into:

  1. Daily devotionsA Heart for Reconciliation, a daily devotional book is available on paperback and kindle.
  2. Weekly Bible study – Discussion Qs for Small Groups. These are also in the back of the devotional book, A Heart for Reconciliation.
  3. Sunday worship – Background material and sermon helps are available below. Podcasts in which I chat about the texts and the series, will also be available.

Background Material

Browse the Five Sunday Texts

Don’t Lose Heart
Pentecost 2B: June 7, 2015 – 2 Corinthians 4:13-5:1 – So we do not lose heart. Though our outer nature is wasting away, our inner nature is being renewed daily.

New Creation
Pentecost 3B: June 14 – 2 Corinthians 5:6-10, (11-13), 14-17 – If anyone is in Christ, there is a new creation. We walk by faith and not by sight, at home in the body and away from the Lord.

Open Heart
Pentecost 4B: June 21 – 2 Corinthians 6:1-13 – Now is the acceptable time; now is the day of salvation. We have endured beatings, riots, hunger, imprisonment…

Eager Generosity
Pentecost 5B: June 28 – 2 Corinthians 8:7-15 – The offering for the poor in Jerusalem. Now as you excel in everything—in faith, in speech, in knowledge, in utmost eagerness, and in our love for you—so we want you to excel also in this generous undertaking.

Powerful Weakness
Pentecost 6B: July 5 – 2 Corinthians 12:2-10 – Paul’s out of body experience, and his thorn in the flesh. My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.

Prepare

Prepare by recruiting small group hosts, who will open their home. Some groups may meet at your church, but home groups have a higher rate of welcoming friends. Small group hosts, need only open their home, offer snacks (or coordinate others to do so) and ask the discussion questions that are provided.

Here are more thoughts on putting together small groups.

Make a sign up sheet for each group and put it in your meeting area throughout May. Announce it every Sunday in May. Ask hosts to recruit for their groups. Have one gathering for hosts at the end of May. On the last day of the series, July 5, have a party for the whole congregation.

Then watch people grow as they engage Scripture.

Schedule

Week 1

Monday, June 1 – Read 2 Corinthians 1:1-11 and chapter 1 of A Heart for Reconciliation

Tuesday, June 2 – Read 2 Corinthians 1:12-24 and chapter 2 of A Heart for Reconciliation

Wednesday, June 3 – Read 2 Corinthians 2:1-13 and chapter 3 of A Heart for Reconciliation

Thursday, June 4 – Read 2 Corinthians 2:14-17 and chapter 4 of A Heart for Reconciliation

Friday, June 5 – Read 2 Corinthians 3:1-11 and chapter 5 of A Heart for Reconciliation

Saturday, June 6 – Group Gathering 1 (on this day or some other day in the week). See Appendix in A Heart for Reconciliation.

Sunday, June 7 – Worship. Sermon: 2 Corinthians 4:13-5:1

Week 2

Monday, June 8 – Read 2 Corinthians 3 and chapter 6 of A Heart for Reconciliation

Tuesday, June 9 – Read 2 Corinthians 4:1-15 and chapter 7 of A Heart for Reconciliation

Wednesday, June 10 – Read 2 Corinthians 4:13-5:5 (the text for last Sunday) and chapter 8 of A Heart for Reconciliation

Thursday, June 11 – Read 2 Corinthians 5:1-17 (the text for this coming Sunday) and chapter 9 of A Heart for Reconciliation

Friday, June 12 – Read 2 Corinthians 5:16-6:1 and chapter 10 of A Heart for Reconciliation

Saturday, June 13 – Group Gathering 2 (on this day or some other day in the week). See Appendix in A Heart for Reconciliation.

Sunday, June 14 – Worship. Sermon: 2 Corinthians 5:6-17

Week 3

Monday, June 15 – Read 2 Corinthians 6:1-13 (the text for this coming Sunday) and chapter 11 of A Heart for Reconciliation

Tuesday, June 16 – Read 2 Corinthians 6:14-7:1 and chapter 12 of A Heart for Reconciliation

Wednesday, June 17 – Read 2 Corinthians 7:1-16 and chapter 13 of A Heart for Reconciliation

Thursday, June 18 – Read 2 Corinthians 8:1-7 and chapter 14 of A Heart for Reconciliation
Friday, June 19 – Read 2 Corinthians 8:7-15 and chapter 15 of A Heart for Reconciliation
Saturday, June 20 – Group Gathering 3 (on this day or some other day in the week). See Appendix in A Heart for Reconciliation.

Sunday, June 21 – Worship. Sermon: 2 Corinthians 6:1-13

Week 4

Monday, June 22 – Read 2 Corinthians 8:16-24 and chapter 16 of A Heart for Reconciliation

Tuesday, June 23 – Read 2 Corinthians 9:1-7 and chapter 17 of A Heart for Reconciliation

Wednesday, June 24 – Read 2 Corinthians 9:8-15 and chapter 18 of A Heart for Reconciliation

Thursday, June 25 – Read 2 Corinthians 10:1-7 and chapter 19 of A Heart for Reconciliation

Friday, June 26 – Read 2 Corinthians 10:8-18 and chapter 20 of A Heart for Reconciliation

Saturday, June 27 – Group Gathering 4 (on this day or some other day in the week). Consider a service project together. See Appendix in A Heart for Reconciliation.

Sunday, June 28 – Worship. Sermon: 2 Corinthians 8:7-15

Week 5

Monday, June 29 – Read 2 Corinthians 11:1-15 and chapter 21 of A Heart for Reconciliation

Tuesday, June 30 – Read 2 Corinthians 11:16-12:1 and chapter 22 of A Heart for Reconciliation

Wednesday, July 1 – Read 2 Corinthians 12:2-21 (the text for this coming Sunday) and chapter 23 of A Heart for Reconciliation

Thursday, July 2 – Read 2 Corinthians 13:1-7 and chapter 24 of A Heart for Reconciliation

Friday, July 3 – Read 2 Corinthians 13:8-13 and chapter 25 of A Heart for Reconciliation

Saturday, July 4 – Group Gathering 5 (on this day or some other day in the week). Have a party! See Appendix in A Heart for Reconciliation.

Sunday, July 5 – Worship. Sermon: 2 Corinthians 12:2-10